Woolpit v HADLEIGH CRICKET CLUB, SUFFOLK Saturday 1st XI on Sat 12 Sep 2020 at 12:00pm

Match report Congratulations to both sides in reaching the final having won their respective pools. In Woolpits pre match social media they identified three payers to watch out for , Hadleighs Dominic Manthorpe and Ben Wallis and their own Harry Bureau who was due runs albeit woolpits Jonty Le Compte didn’t get a mention but was to make an impact.

The hosts won the toss and elected to bat first , Dominic Manthorpe conceded 1 run off his first 3 overs and Daniel Shanks looked lively , Will Parker and Harry Bureau were watchful and looked steady until Tom Piddington bowled the former for 9 and Kyle Tanner bowled the latter for 22 , Woolpit found themselves 36 for 2.

Andy Northcote and Ryan Newcombe steadied the ship reaching 73 before Northcote was out LBW to the bowling of Ben Wallis and Newcombe was run out by Manthorpe leaving Woolpit on 87 for 4 , this soon became 119 for 7.

Le Compte looked determined to set a competitive total reaching 51 at a strike rate of 102 before being bowled by Manthorpe , Lewis Millions trapped Packer , leg before wicket , Ben Wallis picked up another 2 wickets and Shanks 2 to restrict Woolpit to 160 off 39.5 overs. All the bowlers picking up at least one wicket with Shanks taking 2 for only 16 off 5 overs and Wallis 3 for 27 off 9 overs.

Marlon Dias and Matthew Kent opened the batting for Hadleigh taking 16 off the first two overs giving a possible indication the game would not last long, that however quickly changed when Heldreich had both openers caught behind by Le Compte In quick succession , and at 22 for 2 the hosts were very much in the hunt.

Tom Piddington and Josh Davey started to rebuild with Piddington looking in commanding form with two maximums and 3 fours however when he was trapped LBW and Le Compte held another catch to remove Davey the visitors found themselves on 64 for 4.

Any nerves suggesting that Hadleigh would not reach the total were however soon eased , as both Dominic Manthorpe and Callum Morrin looked comfortable and untroubled taking the score to 138 before Morrin missed a full toss to be bowled by Bevan having made his highest total for the season with a cracking 37.

Jamie Colcomb joined Manthorpe and the pair took Hadleigh over the winning line reaching 162 in the 32nd over both ending up unbeaten on 7 and 39 respectively.

A great way to end the season with all the HCC first team squad making an impact during the cup campaign , well done Woolpit CC on reaching the final and congratulations to Andy Northcote for pulling the whole competition together.

Woolpit Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
6w 2b 6lb 
for 10 wickets
160 (39.5 overs)
Will Parker b  T Piddington 9 33 27.27
Harry Bureau b  K Tanner 22 41 3 53.66
Ryan Newcombe run out  (D Manthorpe) 26 52 3 50.0
Andy Northcote lbw  B Wallis 20 22 2 90.91
Oliver Melville-Ross lbw  B Wallis 5 6 1 83.33
Jonty Le Compte b  D Manthorpe 51 50 5 102.00
Henry Bevan b  B Wallis 0 2 0
Alex Packer lbw  L Millions 8 12 66.67
Ashwin Bhatt Not Out  5 16 31.25
Barry Collins b  D Shanks 0 3 0
George Heldreich ct  D Manthorpe b D Shanks 0 2 0


Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Dominic Manthorpe6.0214114.002.33
Daniel Shanks4.511628.003.31
Kyle Tanner4.0017117.004.25
Thomas Piddington9.0139139.004.33
Ben Wallis9.022739.003.00
Lewis Millions7.0039139.005.57

Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2nb 16w 1lb 
for 5 wickets

(31.2 overs)
Marlon Dias ct  J Le Compte b G Heldreich 14 10 2 140.0
Matthew Kent ct  J Le Compte b G Heldreich 6 12 50.0
Thomas Piddington lbw  A Packer 33 30 3 2 110.0
Josh Davey ct  J Le Compte b A Bhatt 7 23 30.43
Dominic Manthorpe Not Out  39 56 3 69.64 1
Callum Morrin b  H Bevan 37 49 4 75.51
Jamie Colcomb Not Out  7 10 1 70.0
Ben Wallis  
Daniel Shanks  
Kyle Tanner  
Lewis Millions  

Woolpit Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
George Heldreich8.2227213.503.24
Ashwin Bhatt5.0123123.004.60
Barry Collins5.003300.006.60
Andy Northcote5.002600.005.20
Alex Packer4.0027127.006.75
Henry Bevan2.0013113.006.50
Harry Bureau2.001200.006.00